Massachusetts OUI Process
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was at least .08 percent – or .04 percent if you are a commercial driver – then you will be arrested for an OUI in Massachusetts. If you are younger than 21 years of age, you will face administrative penalties if your BAC is at least .02 percent.
If you failed your post-arrest chemical test, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. On the other hand, if you refused to take a chemical test, your license will be suspended for 180 days.
Following your arrest, your “arraignment” date with be scheduled. During your arraignment, your charges will be read, and you will be advised of your rights, including your right to an attorney.
The Law Offices of Joseph D. Bernard care about the future of their clients. The professionals at the firm understand your situation and will fight for the best outcome for you to get on with your life.
Within four (4) to six (6) weeks, a pre-trial conference will be held. The prosecutor will offer you a plea bargain. If you hire a lawyer, he/she will advise you to either accept or reject the deal. Additionally, your attorney may file motions for discovery of evidence and motions to suppress evidence.
At the motion hearing, your lawyer will argue how the arresting officer violated your rights during the arrest and/or chemical test process. The arresting officer has a chance to provide the reasons for pulling you over and arrest you for OUI. If law enforcement officials performed an unlawful traffic stop, your attorney may get your entire case dismissed. If the police violated your rights, this fact could strengthen your defense.
Your trial will be held in district court, either in front of a jury or a “bench trial” (e.g. judge). Your lawyer will determine which method is best suited for your case. The trial consists of opening statements, cross-examination by both sides, and closing statements, before a judge or jury determines a verdict.
Once the trial ends, the court will impose a sentence if you are convicted at trial of if you accept the plea bargain. A first OUI conviction is punishable by a maximum two-and-a-half-year jail sentence, fines of up to $5,000 (not including other fees), and driver’s license revocation for up to one year.