Massachusetts dui penalty

In Massachusetts, driving under the influence is commonly known as operating under the influence (OUI). So, what is a penalty for a DUI in Massachusetts? 

No matter the name, a conviction of this offense can carry harsh penalties. What can you expect for your case? Here is an overview of the DUI/OUI penalties associated in Massachusetts. 

First Offense

You can expect to face substantial penalties even with a first-offense conviction. Driving under the influence is a serious offense throughout the Commonwealth, and Massachusetts levies serious consequences against offenders. If you have been convicted, you could face the following:

  • Imprisonment for 2.5 years
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000

Along with that, you might even have your driving privileges revoked. In some cases, you may be unable to drive for 180 days. However, if you want to reinstate your license, then there could be additional fees ranging from $100 to $1,200. In many cases, jail time can be avoided, but you may end up on probation. Plus, many drivers are required to take alcohol education classes as well. 

Second Offense

Harsh penalties are meant to dissuade future behavior. Unfortunately, some drivers still take their chances and drive their vehicles after consuming alcoholic beverages. A second offense carries even more substantial penalties. 

These cases will often have a jail sentence of 60 days to 2.5 years. Sometimes, jail time may be avoided by attending an inpatient alcohol treatment program, but that is not always the case. 

There is also a fine of between $600 and $10,000. Additionally, the driver’s license will be suspended for two years, and anyone convicted may be required to install an ignition interlock device at their own expense

Third and Subsequent Penalties

With a third conviction, there are even stricter penalties. For example, there are mandatory jail sentences; A driver will have to spend at least 150 days in jail. In some circumstances, the driver could receive a sentence of up to 2.5 years in prison. There are also greater monetary penalties, ranging  from $1,000 to $15,000. 

Additionally, a person’s driver’s license can be revoked for up to 8 years. After two years, the driver can apply for a hardship license, but they must install an ignition interlock device. 

Implied Consent Law

Along with the above, there are other consequences of a DUI arrest. For example, if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence, you must submit a breathalyzer test under the implied consent law. If you do not consent, you will also have your license suspended for 180 days (for a first offense) and life (for a third or subsequent offense).

Find Out More About Potential DUI Penalties

Driving under the influence is a serious crime with strict penalties. With the severity of these consequences, you always want to consult with a legal professional if you’re facing DUI charges. An experienced DUI/OUI lawyer in Massachusetts can help you understand the potential penalties and explore your legal options.

For over 50 years, the Law Offices of Joseph D. Bernard P.C. has helped thousands of clients resolve their OUI cases. We provide defense legal services to Springfield, Hyannis, Belchertown, and Cape Cod communities. Contact us by calling (413)-731-9995 or texting (413)-225-2072 to schedule a free initial consultation.