Driving under the influence (DUI), also known as operating under the influence (OUI) in Massachusetts, comes with severe consequences. One repercussion is the suspension of your driver’s license. Do you lose your license immediately after a DUI in Massachusetts? The answer might surprise you. If you want to learn more about the consequences of a DUI/OUI in Massachusetts, keep reading on.
What Is the Immediate Aftermath of a DUI Charge?
In Massachusetts, if you are charged with a DUI/OUI, your license can be suspended immediately. An immediate suspension occurs if you:
- Fail the breathalyzer test with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- You refuse to take the test
Along with a license suspension, you can still face additional criminal charges.
How Long Does the License Suspension Last?
Like most offenses, the duration of the suspension will depend on the circumstances of the crime. For those first-time offenders, this suspension period is around 30 days. However, any refusal of a sobriety test will lead to a longer period. For example, refusing to take the test will result in an automatic 180-day license suspension.
Any previous DUI/OUI offenses can also lead to stricter suspension periods. Plus, if any injuries or deaths result from an OUI accident, offenders may face a complete revocation of driving privileges.
Which Agency Handles License Suspension?
In Massachusetts, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will handle all license suspensions. This agency has the authority to revoke a license immediately once they have been notified of your DUI charge.
Unlike the criminal court system, the RMV views these offenses differently. Many drivers will receive a Continuance Without a Finding (CWOF). While that is not a criminal conviction, it is considered a first offense by the RMV. So, if you get convicted after a second DUI charge, that would be a second offense, even though you have only one conviction on record. Once again, that can lead to escalated penalties for your license.
What Happens Next?
With any OUI/DUI charge, you can immediately lose your driving privileges. When that happens, you could significantly impact your daily life. For that reason, you want to seek legal assistance as soon as possible after being charged with a DUI. An experienced OUI/DUI attorney can help you understand your rights and options and potentially reduce the duration of your license suspension.
Get Assistance With Your OUI Case
Do you lose your license immediately after a DUI in Massachusetts? In some cases, the answer is yes. The immediate suspension of your driver’s license after a DUI charge in Massachusetts is a serious matter with plenty of consequences. Even if you have not technically been convicted of a DUI/OUI crime, you could still be considered a first-time offender, according to the RMV. When you have a license suspension, it can drastically affect your life. For that reason, you want to have an experienced and skilled OUI attorney on your side.
For over 50 years, the Law Offices of Joseph D. Bernard P.C. has helped thousands of clients resolve their OUI cases. We provide defense legal services to Springfield, Hyannis, Belchertown, and Cape Cod communities. Contact us by calling (413)-731-9995 or texting (413)-225-2072 to schedule a free initial consultation.